top of page

Review & Giveaway - Chances Are

Today I'm pleased to be sharing my review of Chances Are with you! Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of the post.

Chances Are

by Wendy Lou Jones

Contemporary romantic fiction

Release Date: 27th June 2016

Luke is the man with the money, the fast car and the hot woman. There’s no way he would even think about getting serious, but a face he can’t remember soon threatens his calm.

Rebecca isn’t interested in a relationship, and definitely not with him. How could she, after all he put her through? She’s spent the last 4 years hiding away from society, a one-woman crusade for children’s road safety. Who would have thought one fateful day, it might almost be her ... again.

As two worlds collide, will opposites attract?

Not if she can help it.

EXTRACT

Close up, she was like a porcelain doll, fragile and poised. Her skin was nearly as pale as her hair. Only her lips, with their deep pomegranate flush and those denim blue eyes brought life to an otherwise frosty palette and that dazzled him.

She seemed so together now, quite a different woman from the one he had witnessed before. He tried to think of a reason to speak to her, but nothing would come to mind. She paid for her milk and butter and glanced sideways at him, so cool and detached in his presence, and then she left the shop.

Luke placed his tin on the counter and chased after her. The lady behind the till called out to him as he sprinted away, but he ignored her. He needed to speak to the woman.

He caught up with her in a matter of seconds, catching her by the elbow as she tried to walk away. The woman turned and looked daggers at him and Luke was disarmed. He held up his hands. “I’m sorry.” He took a step back. “I just wanted to apologise for the other day.”

The woman said nothing, just looked at him and Luke felt his confidence slipping.

“I … I shouldn’t have left you there on the side of the road.”

“You shouldn’t have tried to knock me down in the first place,” she shot back, before he could blink.

Luke had not been prepared for an attack. “Er. No. But you did step out in front of me.”

“Well you should have been paying more attention, shouldn’t you?”

“I should…?”

She tried to turn away.

“Look.” This was definitely not going to plan. “I just wanted to say I was sorry.”

“What for, in particular?”

What?

The woman rolled her eyes and tried to turn away from him, but he reached for her again.

“Wait. What did you mean by that? For the other day, of course. I’m sure I apologised at the time, but … you were just a bit … vacant. You probably don’t remember.”

“Vacant?!”

“I’m sorry. What I’m trying to say is I should have made sure you were okay. I had hoped we could be civil about this.” Apparently not.

“Civil is a lawsuit, Luke. Go drive your fancy car with your fancy girlfriend and leave me alone,” and she stormed away from him up the road.

Luke’s jaw hung open. Such contempt from a woman he’d barely met. But the thing that had shaken him most of all, was that she seemed to know him.

BUY LINKS

TRAILER LINK

My Review

Luke, a dentist, appears to have it all. A good life, nice home, his own dentistry practice and he comes from a privileged background. Rebecca, however, feels as though she has lost everything; the dreams she had and the person she loved. It's that loss that drives her to campaign for road safety, whilst spending the rest of her life hidden away.

A near miss and Luke is intrigued by the woman who he has to swerve to avoid. Luke doesn't remember Rebecca but she remembers him all too well! Is Luke beginning to realise what's missing in his life and can Rebecca come to terms with the change in hers.

Luke had me so conflicted. With his background and the way he treated Rebecca at school, I first found him arrogant. I wanted Rebecca to keep turning him down - I admired his persistence and wanted her to say yes! I felt sorry for him, yet I felt he was getting a bit of what he deserved.

I was glad the author had me conflicted. It made Rebecca and Luke's journey all the more satisfactory. Luke needed Rebecca so he could be a better person. Rebecca needed Luke so she could heal and grow and become the person she was always meant to be.

A lovely story. Sweet and incredibly satisfying!

4 Butterfly rating.

ABOUT WENDY LOU JONES

My name is Wendy Lou Jones. I was born and raised in West Sussex, England and moved to Birmingham to study Medicine at University, where I was lucky enough to meet my husband. We now live in a little village in Herefordshire with our two grubby boys. I discovered a love of writing not long after my youngest son started school. And if you were to ask me what it was that made me make the switch, I’d tell you quite simply, that it started with a dream.

Instagram: wendylouwriter

GIVEAWAY

The first 2 Nutt Hill novels - as signed paperbacks (open internationally)

Click the link below!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page